Pretty bookmarks made from note cards

Bookmarks created from note cards. The colorful prints come from the front & back of the card and the green shows the back of the which comes from the coordinating envelope.

Is it reuse, recycle or repurpose? Regardless of whatever the proper definition of this idea might be, what I do know is that it’s an easy way to keep admiring a pretty note card in a useful way.

I still prefer to get most of my books from the library (with the exception of oft-consulted reference books and a few cherished novels), as I find it to not only be thrifty and to help keep the house less cluttered, but to me there is a certain energy in a library book that comes from it’s shared quality. While I don’t appreciate when others mark up passages or dog ear the pages, there is a subtle sense of community in knowing others have read this book before you and many others will continue to after you.

An assortment of bookmarks made from note cards

More samples of bookmarks created from note cards. The top 3 are 1½" wide, the bottom two a bit skinnier.

With library books, comes the need for bookmarks. I never can seem to have enough of these for some reason either, despite the fact that I am not (usually) one of those people who reads multiple books simultaneously. And occasionally, I receive a nice note written on particularly pretty stationary for which it seems a shame to admire and then just toss into the blue bin. So, I’ve started turning those pretty cards into pretty bookmarks.

It’s a super easy process. Find a portion of the note card you’d like to save (while my examples are of the printed portion of the card, you might also like to save a snippet of the note itself instead) and cut it into a strip of any width you prefer or that frames the design nicely (I tend towards either 1¼” -1½” wide). These types of notes usually have color coordinated envelopes, so I cut a strip from that the same size as the bookmark, then glue the two pieces together. Finally a small hole is punched at the top and a length of matching ribbon threaded through.

Instead of the envelope as the back, you can also use another strip of the printed portion of the card, or a scrap of coordinating paper you might have on hand. Whichever you choose, the double thickness helps the bookmark to hold up and gives it a nice heft.

