treating headaches with EFT, walking, oil-cleaning method, heat-sealing, Lawrence Krauss A Universe from Nothing/

I no longer can imagine a world without the internet. And Google. It’s like having a free university at my fingertips. My favorite things learned this week included a way to heal headaches without popping pills, better health in just 30 minutes, the counterintuitive idea of washing my face with oil, a kitchen tip, and the mysteries of science:

» I am plagued by headaches of all variations. While I am grateful to the Excedrin people, I’m always looking for an alternative to popping their pills. A chance mention by a new friend who is an Ayurvedic Practitioner led to some experimentation with tapping, or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique). As a believer in and proponent of energy medicine [see, for example, my post on Reiki and experience with the Gong Bath], I was eager to give these self-healing techniques a try. When it’s both fast and free, what have you got to lose? Results so far for me? 2 out of 2 headaches cleared with this approach: Headache Relief at Your Fingertips

» Do I have an investment tip for you! It’ll improve your quality of life, help you live longer, and best of all, it’s free! Sounds too good to be true, but there’s research to prove it. All you need is 30 minutes a day (via @KKAyurveda): A Half Hour to Better Health

» Cleaning your face with oil sounds counterintuitive, but then again some of the best ideas are.  And basic chemistry teaches us that “like dissolves like”, so there’s some science behind lathering up with olive oil rather than soap. I’m off to the pharmacy to pick up some castor oil and give this a try: The Oil-Cleansing Method

» I’m all about keeping it fresh. My food that is; admittedly I have a bit of a food safety anxiety issue. Who knew I already had everything I need to keep my food airtight?: Seal Plastic Bags with Aluminum Foil and an Iron

» We all want something from nothing. Turns out that’s the way the universe works: The Science of “Something” and “Nothing”**

**Update: I checked  Lawrence Kraus’ book out from the library, and while I was fascinated by it, it had less to do with the fact that I understood anything and more to do with the fact that my mind was blown by the seemingly impossible measurements astrophysicists and theoretical physicists attempt. Without an astronomy, physics or astrophysics background, it’s a challenging read (most pages I had to re-read multiple times and even then most of the information was going over my head), but in that, it also reminds us that there are some extraordinarily intelligent people out there investigating our world.

More fascinations:

5 Random Things Being, iPhonography, Storybook, and a Bookmark
